Rustic Apple Sauce

Last night I just needed a pick-me-up that was fruity and sweet but not a baked good. So I looked around and decided a nice lemony apple sauce was the way to go! I try to remember what my Aunt Dot’s apple sauce tasted like and that is what I tried to replicate. 30 minutes later I was curled up in front of the Sport Relief Bake Off eating this tasty Rustic Apple Sauce. I call it rustic because I was too lazy to peel the apples :p It turned out beautifully!

Rustic Apple Sauce

  • Servings: 1-2
  • Time: 45 minutes
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

INGREDIENTS:AppleSauce1

  • 3-4 small Braeburn apples (mine were tiny, like lunch box size)
  • 1 tbs lemon juice
  • 1 tbs Golden Syrup
  • 1 tsp cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:

  • Cut apples into chucks and toss into a pot on medium heat. Add in lemon juice and simmer. Once apple juices begin to collect, about 5 minutes, add in golden syrup and cinnamon.
  • Simmer covered for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  • Simmer uncovered 10 minutes.
  • Mash with a potato masher and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

