Thanks giving way to Christmas

Our first holiday in England was perfect. Low key and tasty, we spent the day doing our two favorite things: wandering around and eating. I decided to take the day off from cooking so we went to a little sandwich shop we had been meaning to try. Circles Cafe is a quaint little spot on Lendal Bridge. The cafe is in an old toll house on the bridge so as you eat you get to look out onto the river Ouse (ooz). It was so enjoyable. The food was tasty too 🙂 I had been craving panini so that is what we got.

After a very nice late lunch we took a walk into the center of town to visit Santa’s village. It was the perfect weekend to do so. At the moment York is turning into a Dickens’ Village complete with tiny trees on buildings and Christmas Mulled Wine and Cider stands. The part of town we walked through on Thanksgiving is home to many little log cabin stands at this time of year. They have been built to house adorable little shops filled with local goods: cheese, puppets, photography, candles,ornaments, dishes, and cozy things.  It was a worthwhile jaunt 🙂

While there isn’t Thanksgiving holiday here in York there surly is a Black Friday/Cyber Monday event! This little place was the most crowded I have seen it. I felt like a salmon swimming up stream. There were great deals however! I picked up a coat from Ness I had been eyeing since we got here! I am one happy camper.

IMG_4305
Just in case the picture doesn’t really show it, this is a beautiful blue wool coat 😀

Since December is upon us and time is moving rapidly these days we set up our Christmas tree this week. It has given me fun projects to tackle. There are amazing things to be done with paper, popcorn, cranberries, thread, and some fabric. With the help of pinterest (my absolute favorite thing) and some Poundworld  buys I have had a blast this week. Here are a few of my favorite things 🙂

I really am not good a making a star shaped ornament! haha the one finally pictured here was the result of much agony. The next one should be better!

Here are some of my salt dough ornaments 🙂 My favorite is the donut. I am inordinately fond of it.

 

Merry Christmas Season all!!!

John’s first masters recital is on Friday the 11th at 2:oo our time (9:00 am in Texas) Here is a link to the Facebook event and live stream! https://www.facebook.com/events/910947468980879/

 

 

Leave a Reply

