The Wall and lots of firsts

Hello all!

It is a blustery day here. Beautiful diffused light on the tress outside our window. It has been a lovely week for food. We tried Swede (rutabaga) and I am planning to roast a pheasant for dinner! It is something I have never done so we shall see what happens 🙂

IMG_4241

The Wall
The Wall

Since last I wrote we have done quite a few fun things! Yesterday we walked the entirety of the wall around the city and found my new favorite coffee shop. It is called Gatehouse Coffee and it has amazing iced caramel macchiatos. Delicious!

A lovely courtyard we glimpsed on the other side of the wall.
A lovely courtyard we glimpsed on the other side of the wall.

After our nice walk around the city we went to a butcher in the Shambles Market and got a pheasant, which I will try to cook this evening! I am excited. Its so much smaller than I thought it would be. I dedicate this bird to Danny (from Danny, The Champion of the World -Roald Dahl). We then went to an cute little Italian Restaurant in on Shambles. A nice date day. Everyday is kinda a date but yesterday was extra special!

Cake balls chillin'
Cake balls chillin’

This week I also attempted my first batch of cake balls. They turned out quite nicely. I can’t wait to learn how to spice them up for Christmas. Peppermint white chocolate, any one?

We also discovered the Museum Gardens. They are so close to our flat I cannot believe it took us this long to wander through them. The newest building in the Gardens  was built while Schubert was still alive. I am amazed that I get to walk among things that are so old and I am beginning to feel like it is normal. haha. Yesterday on our walk John was reading a plaque on a bridge over the Foss and the date was 1880. He said “oh, so this is a new bridge.” It makes me smile.

Happy Friday!

IMG_4183
Ruins of St Mary’s in the Museum Gardens
Museum Gardens Ruins of St Mary's
Cemetery at St. Olave next to the Gardens
Fall leaves  by the Ouse
Fall leaves by the Ouse
View of Bootham Bar and the Minster from the front of the Museum.
View of Bootham Bar and the Minster from the front of the Museum.
Delicious apricot tart in the square
Delicious apricot tart in the square
Pie crust cookies and custard.
Pie crust cookies and custard.

IMG_4192

Some of our tasty dinners. I forgot to take picture of the quiche I made and the baked mac and cheese. They both tasted wonderful. haha
Some of our tasty dinners. I forgot to take picture of the quiche I made and the baked mac and cheese. They both tasted wonderful. haha
Leave a Reply

